Laws Supporting LGBTQ Community in America

LGBTQ Community in America
Woden judge mallet symbol of law and justice with lgbt flag in rainbow colours.

Introduction: What are the Current Laws Supporting LGBTQ Rights in the United States?

The laws supporting the LGBTQ community vary from state to state. However, some of these laws are federal.

LGBTQ rights in the United States are still a work in progress. While there is progress made by legislation and court decisions, lgbtq people still struggle with discrimination within the country’s borders.

The 5 States Leading the Way for LGBTQ Rights

This list is a compilation of the five states that are leading the way when it comes to LGBTQ rights. It includes information on gay friendly policies, sexual orientation laws and marital status.

For example, in Colorado you can obtain a marriage license if either party is 18 years old or older with no blood test required and without requiring the other partner to be divorced or widowed. They also have an inclusive anti-discrimination law that protects against discrimination in employment and housing based on sexual orientation or gender identity.

The first state to legalize same-sex marriage was Massachusetts in 2004 – making them one of the top 10 most gay-friendly states in America.

How these States are Doing It Right

Gay marriage is legal in the following states:

– California, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota (as of 2018), New Hampshire (as of 2018), New Jersey (as of 2018), New York, Oregon and Washington

– Nevada was the first state to recognize gay marriage in a court decision on May 15th 2014.

– Rhode Island recognized gay marriage on May 2nd 2017.

– Vermont legalized same sex marriage on March 20th 2004

This is not the only way that these states are doing it right. They also have protection against discrimination in place for sexual orientation and gender identities.

The Federal Laws Supporting LGBTQ Americans in Order of Importance

The Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution states that “No state shall make or enforce any law which shall”

The marriage equality laws are a very important protection because they give equal rights to LGBT citizens. Without these laws, it would be easier for states to discriminate.

These laws cover many rights and protections for the LGBT community such as family law, employment discrimination, housing discrimination, public accommodations, and more.

The State Laws Supporting the LGBTQ Community Listed in Order of Importance

Data collected from the Human Rights Campaign show a large number of state laws that protect LGBTQ rights, and that the protection of these rights are more important in some states than others.

States with a higher proportion of LGBTQ people tend to have more state-based protections for the LGBTQ community. A study on LGBTQ policy found that “with each additional percentage point increase in a state’s population identifying as lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender (LGBTQ), there was an increase of 0.9% in legal protections for LGBT people.” This shows how important it is for every state to have equal protection for all its residents and their rights.

Conclusion – How You Can Support These States to Further Advance LGBTQ Rights in America

The purpose of this article is to provide information on how you can support these states to further advance LGBT rights in America. The recommended action is all about reaching out and gaining awareness through various methods. There are many ways that can help us achieve this goal:

– education on human rights for students;

– legalizing gay marriage;

– advocating for more gender options at birth certificates; and more!

This all about LGBTQ rights in America.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here